Toronto Distillery Whisky

15 01 2017

Jesse1.jpg

I got to have fun today. You could put everything I know about whisky (or any booze for that matter,) in a shot glass. I got to hang out with Jesse Razaqpur, one of the founders of Toronto Distillery Co. and did a little shooting. I also got to sample one of the 54 bottles of rare, 3 years in the making, Organic Canadian Whisky. From the label its a Straight, Unadulterated, Not-Compounded, All Organic whisky, 50% ABV, and aged in a charred hickory barrel hand-made in Prince Edward County, Ontario.

How did it taste? It was deep, smoky, complex, spicy, and it tasted and smelled like whisky. It made me think of smoking a cigar or eating chocolate and smoking a cigar. I wanted to sit on a deck near a lake and watch sailboats bobbing on the waves. I wanted to listen to the water rocking the floating dock…the gravel rolling on shore with each wave. . .in short, I wanted to drink a glass outdoors, maybe with a drop of water…ok two drops (I mentioned it’s 50% ABV.) It made me think of the woods, the summer, the heat and sounds of being all alone. I mentioned I know nothing about alcohol right? It was a bit reminiscent of some bourbons I’ve had and I would say its smoother than a lot of rye whisky I have had over the years.

whiskystack.jpg

I guess the bottom line is this, if you want to try this whisky you have to grab it fast because I suspect in two weeks it will be gone forever, sadly, just like the award winning Distillery. Sounds like they are closing their doors for good on January 31st. It’s a long story related to doing battle with the government and the cost of doing business in Ontario so I guess they will transition back to their other love (the law,) and hopefully we will see some of this magic another time…at this point you can still but a few products including J. R.’s Dry Organic Gin which is also listed at some LCBO stores. Check online for this offering or go and see them at their store. Their hours, directions, etc. are HERE.

As always, thanks to Jesse Razaqpur and Charles Benoit for the hospitality!

More shots coming. . .

-30-

Actions

Information




